The Land of Enchantment passed the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act in 2007, making it possible for qualifying patients in the state to use medical cannabis to manage their symptoms.
If you’re interested in accessing cannabis to help you manage your health, here’s what you need to know about how to become a medical cannabis patient in NM.
Qualifying Conditions for NM’s Medical Cannabis Program
In order to become a medical cannabis patient in New Mexico, you must have one of the following qualifying conditions:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Autism Spectrum Disorder
- Crohn’s Disease
- Damage to the Nervous Tissue of the Spinal Cord (with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity)
- Epilepsy/Seizure Disorder
- Friedreich’s Ataxia
- Hepatitis C Infection currently receiving antiviral therapy
- Hospice Care
- Huntington’s disease
- Inclusion Body Myositis
- Inflammatory Autoimmune-mediated Arthritis
- Intractable Nausea/Vomiting
- Lewy Body Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Obstructive Sleep Apnea
- Opioid Use Disorder
- Painful Peripheral Neuropathy
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
- Severe Anorexia/Cachexia
- Severe Chronic Pain
- Spasmodic Torticollis (Cervical Dystonia)
- Spinal Muscular Atrophy
- Ulcerative Colitis
How to Become a Medical Cannabis Patient in NM: The Application Process
If you live with one or more of the above qualifying conditions, the next step is to obtain a medical statement from a medical practitioner licensed to practice in New Mexico.
If you’re currently under the care of a doctor who doesn’t support the use of medical cannabis, you still have plenty of options. There are a number of state-certified physicians who are able to determine whether or not you’re a good candidate for medical cannabis. Be prepared to bring your medical records with you if you’re seeing a new doctor. You’ll want to share details of your medical history to help him or her offer you a certification.
Some doctors’ offices will complete the application and registration process for you! If they don’t, the next step is to apply to the state’s Medical Cannabis Program using the New and Returning Cannabis Patient Application.
You’ll need to provide personal information including your name, address, and contact information, as well as a photocopy of your current New Mexico driver’s license or state-issued identification card (temporary IDs are accepted as well). Be sure to have your letter from your cannabis-certified doctor.
Once you’re registered with the state’s database, you’ll typically receive your medical cannabis card within 7 – 10 business days. After that, you’re free to visit Green Goods! Be sure to have your medical cannabis card and state-issued ID (such as a driver’s license) with you.
Registering Caregivers and Renewing Your Card
If you need help getting your medical cannabis, you can designate a Primary Caregiver to help you pick up your medications. They’ll have to complete a background check, then fill out an application similar to yours. Note that they’ll need to have the application signed by your cannabis certifying doctor!
Be sure you renew your card on time; patient and caregiver cards expire every three years. Send in your application to renew 30 – 90 days before your card expires to avoid losing coverage.
In addition, you’re required to send in a completed Annual Certification Form each year. Be sure to send it at least 30 days before the date listed on your card to continue your enrollment.
Finally, if you move to a different mailing address—or if your patient card is lost or stolen—fill out and send in an Information Change/Card Replacement Form within ten business days.
You can find more information on the state’s helpful Patient Guide.
Once you have a card, you can stop by your nearest Green Goods location. Just be sure to bring both your state-issued ID and your new medical card with you.
We sincerely hope this guide has been helpful, and we’re excited for you to begin accessing the benefits of medical cannabis!